Very Inspiring Blogger Award

vib-awardA while back, Dana, a TAPIF blogger friend, now a lectrice blogger, kindly nominated me for the Very Inspiring Blogger Award. I adore Dana’s incredibly insightful blog. Your blog certainly has inspired mine. Merci, Dana ! And “merci !” to all the readers of my blog, I greatly appreciate your support and wish you the best in the New Year.

The “Rules”

  • Thank and link to the person who nominated you.
  • List the rules and display the award.
  • Share seven facts about yourself.
  • Nominate 15 other blogs you enjoy, and let them know that you have nominated them.

The “Facts”

1.)  I started fencing in college and would love to start fencing again or begin learning historical fencing.

2.) I was once voted “Most Likely to be a Russian Spy”. One year of Russian came in helpful for something I guess? Где библиотека?

3.) Piggybacking off of Dana’s fact #3, I played clarinet for 10 years (haven’t touched it in 3, maybe I should change that?). My high school marching band played at the Gator Bowl and Citrus Parade and the New Year’s parade in Disney’s Universal Studios in 2008. Video at my last championship.

Masqueraders

SOURCE: Metropolitan Museum of Art, metmuseum.org

4.) Around age 2, I became a pirate. (ahem, the eye patch helped back then)

5.) My favorite painting is Masqueraders by Raimundo de Madrazo y Garreta.

6.) My favorite word in English is pumpernickel. That or kerfuffle. I pretty much can’t say them without smiling.

7.) I do not eat beef unless it is served to me and would be offensive to reject.

Nominees

Next Stop– Dounia’s blog is very informative about the “Third Culture Kid” experience. I first heard the term “Third Culture Kid” because of this blog.

Hardly Snarky– Anne is a current TAPIF assistant. She writes well and takes great pictures.

Present Perfect– Anne is a current TAPIF assistant who provides some good cultural commentary.

The Vicar of H Street– Becky is a Gettysburg grad (go Gburg!) and went on to become an Episcopal priest who writes a wonderful blog. She was so supportive when I’d just arrived in DC, I wish I could still walk over to the church she is at on Sundays.

Peace Corps Adventure– A Peace Corps Albania blog which is helping me decide whether or not Peace Corps may be in my future.

Seneballin’// Senegal, Peace Corps, and general toubbabery– A Peace Corps Senegal blog which is helping me decide whether or not Peace Corps may be in my future.

The Wanderer in Zambia– A Peace Corps Zambia blog which is helping me decide whether or not Peace Corps may be in my future.

Hannah Goes to France– Hannah did the maximum 2 years of TAPIF and so has a lot of insight.

Is it against the rule to re-nominate the nominator without expecting that they re-post the award? Because Dana’s blog, As Told by Dana, truly is fantastic, especially for those who want to learn how to stay in France after TAPIF or for those freaking out about a post-TAPIF life, because she nailed that.

Well, since I’m already against the rules, this might be the end of my list. Perhaps a New Years Resolution should be to follow more blogs. And with that, my 100th post is posted. Thanks again, Dana!

About Quiche Lauren

A blog by an English teaching assistant in Nîmes (Académie de Montpellier) through the TAPIF program.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Very Inspiring Blogger Award

  1. Dana says:

    Aww Lauren thanks for the shoutout! Your blog is so inspiring, too! 😀 So glad we were able to become real-life friends 😀

  2. Pingback: Number One Diva in this Game for a Minute | Present Perfect

Leave a Reply

