4 Responses to The practical things for TAPIF: Breaking up with your bank

  1. Dana says:

    wow! a lot easier than I thought! I am going to link this post to TAPIF Tips if that’s okay?!

  2. I’m about to open up a bank account, but this is all good info to know for the future!

  3. motvaliser says:

    Bonjour! I’m a new TAPIFer about to set off for Lille. Thanks so much for posting all this advice!!! I have a question: my banker here told me to try to avoid sending money back and forth through wire transfers and to just take it all out in cash when I go home. But from what you’re saying, you’ll still be getting back paychecks, etc. after you’ve gone home? So you can’t close out your account before you leave France? Or is the American address just where you’re going home to; you don’t have to be there at the time?

    Also, what do you think about the advisability of taking out cash and bringing it home in the suitcase? I was a little surprised that’s what the bank guy said to do….

    Thanks for all the great info!
    Natalie

Leave a Reply

