Bulls, bulls, bulls

P1080001

Camille came down from Paris to visit me in Nîmes for Easter (holy flapjacks am I behind on posts). To celebrate the day before Easter, we were off to the bulls! Arles was celebrating Easter with the Féria de Pâques. We prepared ourselves with a breakfast of fougasse sucrée, then were off to see the bulls on their way to the arena. We didn’t join in running with them. You’re welcome parents. We got tickets to see the corrida mixte, the bullfight with toreros on foot and rejoneadors on horse. I had read The Sun Also Rises by Hemingway in preparation and I do feel it helped me better appreciate the capework and spectacle in general. I would like to say that I found the bullfight utterly despicable and disgusting that an animal dies such a torturous death and humans so needlessly put themselves in danger… But I really enjoyed watching. It was that kind of a spectacle which puts you on the edge of your seat. So much action! Beautiful costumes. You can read more about my bullfighting dilemma in my last post. I’m curious how others feel about it, so comments! Camille’s favorite part was looking at the costumes de lumière and the pink socks of the bullfighters. They were pretty glorious. Except the socks. I hate pink. I know, my friends. I know how shocked you are. New blog friends, you officially know Lauren fun fact #1.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Camille, Mary, and I celebrated Easter with a quiche in my little apartment on Easter which, while quite tasty, was no substitute for pizza rustica and the scent of manesta. And no Easter bread… I don’t even like the taste of Easter bread (I do like the look, though) and I missed it. Bref, I missed my family’s very Italian Easter. Camille and I played tourist in Nîmes. I finally got to see the new movie in the Maison Carrée on the foundation of Nîmes. I really enjoyed it and found the history quite interesting, all the more so having studied abroad in the north of France where the Druids held out against the Romans. It was interesting to learn of how the Druids who cooperated with the Romans were treated. It also perhaps explains the strange seemingly spiritual movements some people make in one of the areas of the Jardin de la fontaine as the Druids believed the source in the garden was had spiritual properties. That or maybe those people really do just go hang out by the big pine tree and flap their arms about slowly. Not really sure what that’s all about still.

I must say I was proud to be able to introduce my favorite Parisian Frenchie to the south 😉 Camilllllle, tu me manques !

About Quiche Lauren

A blog by an English teaching assistant in Nîmes (Académie de Montpellier) through the TAPIF program.
This entry was posted in Assimilation, Culture, Languedoc-Rousillon, Nîmes, South of France, TAPIF, Travel and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

