Après-TAPIF

After many adventures (so many posts to come), new hello’s, and more goodbyes, I arrived back in the USA on May 13th. My heart brims with the joy of friendships, fulfillment, and also with that bittersweet twang of having to say goodbye again and again without knowing if you’ll ever see your friends again. I now have less than two weeks before I move. Again. This time, though, I’m staying stateside. Don’t think that means I’ve lost my burning desire to find myself somewhere else in the world, where English isn’t spoken and where I can be immersed in a culture which isn’t my own. I do love my country, and I realized that all the more the longer I lived abroad. Yet, even more perhaps, I love the world.

My après-TAPIF life has begun. It seems like I only just began TAPIF, but life moves on. Soon I will move to Washington DC to begin my internship in the field of International Education. Come this Fall, I will begin the Master’s in International Education at The George Washington University. Now, I just have to find lodging as a cardboard box might not be the ideal home, even if it is located under the lovely DC cherry trees. Thank goodness for friends! This will be my first time living in an American city. That will hopefully help tame the downward re-entry adaptation slope. Here’s to new experiences, new friends, old friends, and new adventures!

So, tell me. What are you doing après-TAPIF?

About Quiche Lauren

A blog by an English teaching assistant in Nîmes (Académie de Montpellier) through the TAPIF program.
This entry was posted in Culture, TAPIF, teach abroad, Travel, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Après-TAPIF

  1. andrea says:

    Welcome HOME!!! Hope I get to see you before your off again. Very proud of you!!! xoxo ❤

  2. Dana says:

    I haven’t announced this publicly yet but I found a lectrice position so I will be moving to Lille!

Leave a Reply

