Grateful to have people to miss

P1060330Today was my last time at the aumônerie in Nîmes. The next meeting will happen after I’ve left the country. I am so grateful that I made so many friends through the aumônerie and I will miss them dearly. I am so grateful to have found a faith community I was happy in. I really hope that future assistants in Nîmes will join the aumônerie!P1060329

Lauren jelloIt was also a fun night introducing these Frenchies to jello (there were brownies and cake too) ; ) I did the same with my English Club. Considering the expression “les goûts et les couleurs ne se discutent pas,” it seems jello takes some getting used to for most French palettes. Once they get over the fact that the texture is like plastic, they seem to think it resembles gummy candies. Apparently something like it exists in Vietnam, but instead of being made with animal-based gelatin, it uses algae and is less dense. Also, trying to explain blue raspberry, “framboise bleue,” made me realize just how ridiculous it is. I did some Wikipedia work and apparently such a thing as a blue raspberry does exist, a rubus leucodermis. Still…

About Quiche Lauren

A blog by an English teaching assistant in Nîmes (Académie de Montpellier) through the TAPIF program.
This entry was posted in Assimilation, Nîmes, TAPIF and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

