Bienvenue au pays des anges, mon amie

“Welcome to the land of angels, my friend”

Saving Mr. Banks

The Rotaract showed this movie and the funds went to benefit brain research. We watched it together. If only the research had been a bit further along.

Some things, you simply cannot predict. We forget that we are not immortal, that death is inevitable, yet we cannot always say how or when we may be called away from this life. My friend Claire from the aumônerie had been sick for quite some time, and while what she suffered from was dangerous, we all thought that she was getting better. The last time I saw her, we were watching the Rotary avant-première of Saving Mr. Banks together. It was early February. I met her parents that night. Her godfather, who I knew from the Rotary Club, had given me a ticket to the movie. We had made plans to watch Mary Poppins in French together. She was excited to tell me that her aunt had located a copy of the movie for us. Shortly after that night at the movies, her circumstances changed, though none of us at the aumônerie realized it was grave. Perhaps Claire herself didn’t either, and if she did, that just goes to show how courageous she was. We facebook messaged only a week ago. I am so glad I met Claire and so blessed that I was able to count her among my friends. I am so blessed that I had shoulders for support and a shoulder to offer today among friends Claire and I shared, while it was strange for Claire not to be among us. Her courage and fighting spirit are a model to all who knew her and we are lucky to have been touched by her light. Goodbye, my bright and courageous friend. Je sais que tu es avec le Seigneur. My prayers are with your family.

About Quiche Lauren

A blog by an English teaching assistant in Nîmes (Académie de Montpellier) through the TAPIF program.
This entry was posted in TAPIF and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

