Liebster Nomination

I was nominated for the Liebster Award by Dana of The Great Big World According to Dana! Thank you, Dana! I admire your blog and find it amusing how we often seem to be on the same wavelength. I also want to thank those who read my blog -thanks Mommy, Daddy, and my aunts and uncles! ; ) The last few days I’ve been astounded by the variety of countries showing in my views by country: USA, France, Canada, Singapore, Denmark, Belgium, Thailand, Serbia, United Kingdom, Morocco, Italy, Brazil, Poland, Israel, Bosnia and Herzegovina, Australia, Indonesia, and Spain. I don’t know who all of you are (or if the country tracker is a bit lost?), but thank you for reading and I hope you enjoy and are able to learn something from my experiences!!
Liebster-Award

What is a Liebster Award? It’s basically like a productive chain letter, where bloggers nominate other bloggers whose blogs they appreciate which have relatively low followings. The nominated bloggers are supposed to pass along the award. Nothing official, but it’s nice to receive. The word “libester” comes from German and has roots in “to love” also perhaps meaning “darling,” (this according to WordReference).

The rules of a Liebster Award are to: 

1. Thank the person who nominated you and link to their blog.

2. Answer the 10 questions given to you by the nominee before you.  (That list is below the nominations.)

3. Nominate 10 of your favorite blogs with fewer than 200 followers and notify them of their nomination.

4. Come up with 10 questions for your nominees to answer.

Here are Dana’s questions for me:

1.) Have you ever flown Ryan Air? Good or bad experience?

I have flown Ryan Air and will be doing so again soon. To where? Not telling. Not just yet, at least. I used it to fly from Paris to Pisa and back again when I studied abroad in Nantes. Their weight and bag size restrictions are really small, but considering their ridiculously low fares, they’ve got to make up the money somewhere and baggage fines must help.The flight attendants try to sell products in flight, but I fell asleep the entire duration of the first trip and most of the second so it wasn’t a bother. Their fares really make it worth it!

2.)What are you most looking forward to in 2014?

Discovering it.

3.) Which Disney Character are you?

Hmm… Keeping in mind I’ve yet to see Frozen… I guess Belle. Although I’ve been told several times I look like Snow White. Short dark hair and headbands? I always try to see the best in other people, I seek adventure, am a Francophile, and “for once it would be grand, to have someone understand, I want so much more than they’ve got planned.” Though she never really did get to travel much, did she? One can hope she would after the curse was lifted. A beautiful library as a gift? You’d probably be pretty well onto your way to winning my heart.

3.) Skydiving or Bungee Jumping? Why?

Skydiving!! It looks so much like flying and I feel the views would be better. And yes, it’s something I truly would like to do.

4.) What’s your favorite blog of all time?

Katy’s TAPIF blog So You Think You Can France, it was such a great resource in preparing for the experience. I also really enjoy October Rebel and Marzipan, two guilty pleasure fashion blogs, although Marzipan helps me keep up with practicing Italian (excuses).

6.) Whats your preferred social media (Facebook, Instagram, Twitter)?

Facebook. You can stay in touch with people.

7.) Can you recommend one new way to achieve new followers?

Keep it short, interesting, and useful. I’m not really an expert on getting blog followers, so I doubt the novelty of this advice. Personally, I look for blogs which catch my attention, make me think, and allow me learn something new.

8.) Coffee or Tea?

Tea both smells AND tastes great. Plus, there are so many flavors to choose from. Does coffee have as many cultural rituals as tea has ceremonies and preparations? I think not. My favorite teas come from my home Simpson and Vail. Their blends are amazing! My favorite flavor in general is Earl Grey and I’m a huge London Fog fan.

9.) How did you discover my blog?

I found Dana’s blog by searching for TAPIF blogs on WordPress and her’s is my favorite current TAPIF blog.

10.) Do you think you’ll still be blogging in 2015?

Honestly, I’m not sure. I created this blog as a way to give back to the TAPIF community because old TAPIF blogs were so useful to me in my planning and during the first few months of being here. I don’t want to blog about just anything, it would have to be something that both matters greatly to me and that I think others can benefit from. Considering it’s hard for me to tell right now what I’ll be doing and where I’ll be in 2015, it’s hard to say.

My 10:

1.) Where would you most like to travel?

2.) What’s your favorite city or town you’ve ever been to? Why?

3.) How do you find good blogs to read?

4.) What’s your favorite word in any language you know? Why?

5.) What song did you most recently listen to or are you currently listening to?

6.) Rollercoasters or merry-go-rounds?

7.) Which is your favorite Ben and Jerry’s flavor?

8.) What’s your favorite blog?

9.) Any advice for travelling on a small salary?

10.) What’s a fun fact about you?

My nominees (without nominating anyone who was on Dana’s list):

Jonas Journeys A great travel blog!

Surge A social justice blog run by my alma mater, Gettysburg College. I don’t feel a Liebster award would be appropriate on their site, but it’s a great blog! Check it out!

Politechs Because my brother gave great advice on blogging and has a must read blog for all those in the technology policy field

So You Think You Can France So. Incredibly. Helpful. A must-read for any TAPIFers current or to-be.

French Twist DC As I may or may not end up in DC sometime soon, it’s good to know where the French-related events are in DC

Reason to Wander Blog by a Nîmes assistant

My first post-grad adventure A TAPIF blog

Next Stop: Nîmes Blog by a Nîmes assistant

Jackie Goes to France A TAPIF blog

Help! I live with my Italian mother in law! It has just slightly above 200 followers, but it reminds me of my Italian family ; )

About Quiche Lauren

A blog by an English teaching assistant in Nîmes (Académie de Montpellier) through the TAPIF program.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Liebster Nomination

  1. Thanks so much for your kind words! I really enjoyed reading your answer se specially about the Disney characters and the tea!! You’re totally right about it and now I think I need to change my answer to tea! Can’t wait to check out more of these blogs you’ve recommended (we read a Lot of the same!)

Leave a Reply

