Winter is Coming

Technically, it’s officially winter now as it’s the 21st of December. However, the south of France hasn’t gotten my memo with my definition of winter; snow and cold. I’m a Connecticut Yankee, alright? This warm winter stuff just doesn’t feel right. So I’m going to seek winter out myself. After Christmas, I’ll be off to Strasbourg! I’ll be participating in the Rencontre Européen, or European Meeting. It’s organized by Taizé, a community of Catholic and Protestant Brothers and Sisters. You can read a bit about them here. I appreciate that they are an interfaith community, granted limited only to Christian interfaith. I’ll either be staying with a host family or at a church. It’s a time for prayer, reflection, and the promotion of world and interfaith peace. A good way to start off the new year, if you ask me! When I say “world and interfaith peace” I truly mean interfaith this time. I’m hoping to go to the seminar “God is Light” which will be an inter-religious dialogue held in the mosque in Strasbourg. I’ve heard far too much Arab/Muslim-bashing in my stay here in France so far. There are so many other seminars that sound great too. I’m super excited that I’ll get to spend New Year’s in Strasbourg meeting people from all over Europe and hopefully meeting other people who similarly hope for more progression in the Catholic Church which will better promote peace and understanding. Though I love the aumônerie, it can be a bit lacking in progressive ideas at times. From Nîmes, there will be me and one of the Brothers who comes to the aumônerie. We’ll be joining the groups from Montpellier and Toulouse. Another American assistant in Nîmes will also be attending, but she will be leaving from another city. I’m not usually vocal about my faith, it’s a very personal thing for me, but wish me luck or pray for me! Whichever floats your boat. Or both, if your boat is really buoyant.

About Quiche Lauren

A blog by an English teaching assistant in Nîmes (Académie de Montpellier) through the TAPIF program.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Winter is Coming

  1. Dounia says:

    That sounds like a wonderful way to both end 2013 and start 2014 (plus my parents told me that Strasbourg is lovely in the winter!)! Wishing you luck and praying for you 🙂 I hope you have a very merry Christmas and a great start to the new year!

Leave a Reply

