Speaking Sud (and the French you don’t learn at school)

At the food drive I did with the Rotaract, Adrien and Laure decided to teach me some new vocabulary. First off, as they are both true “sudistes” having lived in the south all their lives, they taught me some Southern vernacular so that I can start speaking sud like them. By the way, you might not want to try most of these out with the Queen of England. Just saying…

ça me lie- ça me saoule, ça m’emmerde= I’m fed up with this, It pisses me off

escamper- jeter, lancer= to throw

être caramélisé- basically, means that the person’s brains are mush (derogatory)

pèguer- to be sticky (in a gross way. Think the floor of a frat house)

peucher- le pauvre! (learned from one of the teachers)

rabiner- to burn (cooking)

That’s all I remember… I hope to learn some more. Now for the other expressions I’ve learned this stay in France:

ça caille!- it’s freezing!

je me les gèle- I’m freezing! (Definitely don’t use that one with the Queen of England!!)

(On the note of cold things, yes, it gets cold in the south of France when there is the Mistral. This is a freezing wind which comes from the Alps.)

paumé- in the middle of nowhere

tu m’étonnes- no kidding, *sarcastically* O, I’m so surprised, shocker

About Quiche Lauren

A blog by an English teaching assistant in Nîmes (Académie de Montpellier) through the TAPIF program.
This entry was posted in Nîmes, South of France, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Speaking Sud (and the French you don’t learn at school)

  1. Corinne says:

    Love the newly learned expressions!! En ce moment ça caille dan le CT. Brrr…..

Leave a Reply

