A Connecticut Yankee in the South of France

I’ve realized something. I’m a northern girl and it doesn’t seem to matter whether it’s France or the US. There’s something different about the south. The people. The accent. It’s not a bad thing. It’s just… Not me. Granted, I’ve been here a month, but I’m pretty convinced. It’s almost November, but it doesn’t feel like autumn here. I actually like an autumnal chill. I like snow, so long as there’s not way too much. Snow on pine trees, is there anything more beautiful? Looking at the snow lit up by the light of the moon, it’s as if you’re surrounded by stars, up above and underfoot… There are no leaves absorbing the colors of the sunset here. The leaves of a New England fall are more beautiful than the flowers of spring or summer to me. There are no woods lit up by a golden twilit light at dusk. No (non-alcoholic) apple cider. No apple cider doughnuts. No pumpkins or pumpkin pie. Autumn is my favorite season. I miss it. The only thing I can say is, at least it’s not too cold yet because I left my winter jacket home. I only have a windbreaker here. Something tells me eventually I am going to need something a little stronger than that, but hopefully I’ll have my first paycheck so I can buy something. Le Mistral, the winter wind, has a bad reputation here.

Image

Apparently I didn’t take many autumn photos and this doesn’t do the season justice nor was it taken in New England (close, though), but… Marching band and Autumn leaves. How much more of an American autumn can you ask for?

This is not to say I don’t like it here! I came to the south because I wanted to experience something culturally different than the north of France, notably different from the Breton culture. I’m getting that, and that’s a good thing. I rather like Nîmes, but I think I need a bit more time to get to know it better so I can further appreciate it. I haven’t gotten to know the bordering southern regions as well as I’d like yet, either.

13 things every New Englander knows to be true. Thanks buzzfeed. http://www.buzzfeed.com/sararubin/14-things-every-new-englander-knows-to-be-true

Cultural note: Speaking of the accent, Nîme’s slogan is “la ville avec un accent”. It’s certainly got an accent. Sometimes maybe a bit too much of one. The French southern accent is cute, so long as it’s not too strong. Which is kind of how I feel about the American southern accent. Kind of. Also, both the American and French southern accent are twangy. loin= loing, demain= demaing, bien= bieng. Is this a thing with the south of anywhere? What are the southern accents of other countries like??

About Quiche Lauren

A blog by an English teaching assistant in Nîmes (Académie de Montpellier) through the TAPIF program.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to A Connecticut Yankee in the South of France

  1. Dounia says:

    My story is almost the opposite – as an expat I lived in France for nearly 11 years (near Paris, but went regularly to Provence, near Avignon as we have a house there) and 3 years ago I moved to Connecticut! I love both – I have a soft spot for France and especially Provence, so I recognize (and love!) all these places you write about… but I’ve definitely fallen in love with autumn in Connecticut – it’s by far my favorite season here! I’ll come over to your blog to get a taste of Provence, and if you’re interested, I promise I’ll be posting many pictures of autumn in CT! 🙂

    p.s. I love your blog name – that’s such a cute play on words! 🙂

  2. I will definitely have to go to your blog to get my fill of CT autumn. Your photography is amazing and I enjoy your writing, too! I hope I’ll grow to love the south of France somewhere near as much as you did. If there are any places in particular that you loved in Provence, I’d love to know so perhaps I can give them a visit and get to know the region better. Thank you for the follow and the comment. It means a lot as a beginning blogger!

    • Dounia says:

      Thanks so much for your kind words, and for stopping by my blog too! I sometimes forget that I’ve been blogging for a little over 2 years – I still feel like I’ve just started blogging. 🙂 I hope I’ll be able to satisfy some cravings for CT autumn; there are more photos coming! I’ll also make sure to send you a comment soon about places to visit in Provence. In the meantime, I hope you have a great weekend!

Leave a Reply

