Resolution

Inconvenience/ crisis avoided! I called the consulate today and they said that my visa is indeed ready for pick up. Woo hoo! So this technical problem really was resolvable. I wonder if it was only me this happened to? The woman I spoke to recognized my name and said she had talked to the woman I spoke to earlier about my visa which makes it seem only my photo and fingerprints were involved. Weird.. Nonetheless I’m relieved it was a simple thing in the end! Usually it takes a week for the visa to be ready, for me it took two weeks- which is far from being traumatic as it’s not yet September and no flight is being risked. I repeat, boys and girls, this is why you book your visa appointment as early as you think you’ll have your arrêté!! Be prepared! 

About Quiche Lauren

A blog by an English teaching assistant in Nîmes (Académie de Montpellier) through the TAPIF program.
This entry was posted in Consulate, Visa and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Resolution

  1. Michael says:

    Hey Lauren – my name is Michael and I’ll be participating in TAPIF as well this year. Your blog is great! I was just wondering – how was your consulate experience? I had called the NYC French consulate to ask a few questions and the woman who answered the phone was SO incredibly rude and unhelpful… I’m actually petrified of going to my appointment! Also, do you have any idea about how to reschedule one’s visa appointment without the confirmation number for the website? My visa appointment is on 8/27 but I have yet to receive my arreté. I’m thinking it probably won’t arrive in time for my appointment, so I’ll have to reschedule. Only problem is: I don’t have my confirmation number or the receipt for that matter. (Scared to call the consulate again and find out how to reschedule the appointment without my confirmation number :X!)

  2. Yikes, I hope you get your arrete soon! In the assistant handbook it says to contact TAPIF if you haven’t gotten the arrete by (I think) August 15th. Which Academie are you in? As for rescheduling the appointment, to do it online you need the number on your booking receipt and passport. So it seems like you may have to call again unless you find your receipt. Don’t worry, they’re not ALL rude. I’ve spoken with at least two very polite women on the phone. The phone number they give for questions not answered on their website is 212 606 3654 and you can call Monday-Friday between 4-5PM. Not sure if it’s a better/ different number than you called? They’ll probably only let you cancel by phone and then you’ll reschedule online. Hopefully someone can help you when you explain you don’t have your receipt. Good luck! Wish I could be of more help.

Leave a Reply

