Ticket to fly

I’ve got my tickets to France! Woo! I’ll be using TAP Air Portugal and I’ll have a stopover in Lisbon both ways. I didn’t want to fly into Paris because it’s a looong train ride between there and Nîmes and no way is my baggage going to be allowed on a Ryanair or Easyjet flight without some hefty fines. And even if I did take the train, that’s like pulling an all nighter. If I stayed a night in Paris, that’s pretty costly. SO I will thus be flying into Lyon. I wouldn’t have thought that was the cheapest airport south of Paris (I was thinking maybe Marseille), but after three weeks of scouring prices on studentuniverse.com and STAtravel.com, it was. I got my tickets from STAtravel, like I did when I went to study abroad. I’ve been pleased with their prices and service. I also like that there are real people- I’ve seen them! They have an office at my brother’s school (George Washington University). Anyways, I’m relieved to have that done.

Some notes on the apostille. CT apparently charges WAY more than any other state I’ve seen for apostilles. On top of that, you need to buy another birth certificate because it has to have been issued within the last 10 years. I mean, does it really matter? Unless you’re my grandma who has a birth certificate with a date her mother said was wrong, your date of birth really isn’t a debatable subject. I’ve got the new birth certificate so now I just have to send it in for the apostille. A former assistant friend of mine suggested waiting to get a translation of the birth certificate because the translation she got in the US was rejected in France.

About Quiche Lauren

A blog by an English teaching assistant in Nîmes (Académie de Montpellier) through the TAPIF program.
This entry was posted in Preparations. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

